Follow Your Bliss….

 

 

 

 

 

 

When you follow your bliss… doors will open where you would not have thought there would be doors; and where there wouldn’t be a door for anyone else.

Joseph Campbell

And who knows where that door may lead?


This entry was posted in Etcetera and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Follow Your Bliss….

  1. smallcirclebigcircle says:

    A question: how do you know if what you are following is your bliss or your delusions?

    Like

    • Touch2Touch says:

      What an excellent question! I’ll weigh in anon — but maybe there are others who would like to respond?

      Like

      • Molly Oldham says:

        I don’t know but it’s something that I think about often. I began writing a novel without any idea what I was doing. It just seemed the right thing to do. I am not one of those people who thinks that some day I’ll write a novel. Never. I don’t know where the story came from. The book wrote itself. I had money put aside and for 3 years I wrote. It was the happiest time of my life. I’ve never been so sure of anything as I was sure of the success of the book. My dream was to use half the proceeds from the book to establish a foundation with the mission to help adults who had lost hope. They in turn would help others, and the same and the same.

        The story is done. The novel is ready for the first rewrite. I’ve shown it to 5 friends. Two hate it, two love it and one says, maybe. I feel like it was a delusion. I’m disheartened, I’ve lost steam and I’ve run out of money. I have to work again and my work is all consuming. How can one be so absolutely sure that they should do something that came out of nowhere? How can one know if it’s a delusion or a higher calling?

        Like

        • Touch2Touch says:

          The first thought that jumped into my mind was that Vincent van Gogh must have felt just this way, painting with no success.
          How can one know if it’s a delusion or a higher calling? I think one can’t know, one can only — as he says — follow your bliss.
          Maybe we just assume bliss includes success. But clearly it doesn’t.

          Like

  2. pauline says:

    What difference does it make if what you are following is delusions if they’re you’re own and you’re happy? The moment I try to follow someone else’s version of my bliss, I begin to hate what I’m doing. Some people would call my “lack of ambition” (actually, that’s what they DO call it) a way of deluding myself. I am perfectly content to leave them alone with that delusion. I’d say, if what you are doing makes you happy, you’re in bliss and if you begin to feel unhappy, search out the reason and then do something else.

    Like

I love comments! Thanks for coming by and visiting ---

