ALMOST AUGUST

The rain (or mist or perhaps fine drizzle) early this morning is so quiet I’m not sure it’s raining at all until I put my ear to the open window and hear a faint pattering, a whispering over the parched grass and fallen leaves.

It’s gray outside, the air is cool, both welcome after rarely broken July spells of incendiary heat and relentless blue skies. It’s almost August, almost time for what Vivian Swift, in her extraordinary book/journal/art diary Where Wanderers Cease to Roam: A Traveler’s Journal of Staying Put, calls the August Lull. If her book could make sluggard me wake up early and listen at the window and take up my camera and go outside to photograph the morning (she would do a artist’s sketch of it, but no matter) — imagine what it could do for you!

This entry was posted in Nature and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to ALMOST AUGUST

  1. Noticing the small things, attention to details, feeling what you see. This is what photography is all about. I like your “eye”. Well done!

    Like

  2. Patti Kuche says:

    This almost sounds like summer in England, although the sun is shining there at last. Enjoy the fresh cool air and early morning bliss!

    Like

    • Touch2Touch says:

      I did, and was happy I did, when mid-morning it started hotting up, and getting humid. Tonight, a lurid radar map shows billows of light green, dark green, yellow, red and purple heading our way — So now I’m battening down the hatches.
      Thanks for stopping by, Patti.

      Like

  3. reb says:

    It’s wonderful to get a little break! We had that yesterday. NY is in for some pretty wild weather this evening, I just heard… perhaps you too?!

    Like

  4. The more I think about this, the more I think: I will buy that book…and I will get you out for a walk in the woods with me on some rainy, quiet day! Bears be damned! : )

    Like

  5. looks like a lovely book. Added it to my wish list. I love mornings when there is a soft gentle mist about, makes me feel like I’m being bathed in blessings.

    Like

  6. Your photos are simple yet so evocative of the welcome relief of rain after extreme heat – I can almost smell the air!
    I’m glad just a touch of our abundant rain has reached you over there 🙂

    Like

  7. pauline says:

    Ordered the book from the CW-MARS library catalog. I’m a dedicated armchair (and front lawn, back yard, neighborhood) traveler. It’s a misty, moisty morning here, too. The clouds are piled like gray pillows as far as one can see but the birds are still singing in the stillness.

    Like

    • Touch2Touch says:

      You left out “poet” in the job description!
      (Isn’t that from a poem also, As I walked out one morning, on a misty, moisty morning… If it isn’t, it should be. And I LOVE the clouds piled like gray pillows as far as one can see. That usually makes my heart sink, but when you say it here, like the birds, my heart sings.)

      Like

      • pauline says:

        One misty, moisty, morning,
        When cloudy was the weather,
        There I met an old man
        All clothed in leather

        All clothed in leather,
        With a cap under his chin.
        How do you do?
        And how do you do?
        And how do you do again?
        (Old Nursery Rhyme)

        Like

  8. willrobb says:

    Nice to see despite the drizzle (when will summer arrive in these shores?) you find beauty in the natural things around you, even the wet wood conjures up aromas. Nice photos and lovely words.

    Like

    • Touch2Touch says:

      Thanks for the kind words, Will.
      The weather changes so frequently here we might be having two separate, side-by-side summers: the hot dry one, and the cooler wet one!

      Like

  9. ristinw says:

    Sometimes the simplest thing in life is the most beautiful thing in life ^^

    Like

I love comments! Thanks for coming by and visiting ---

