Birds of Look Park

Birds: not my usual photographic pursuit. Some of my favorite bloggers concentrate on birds. They seem to be half avian themselves (the bloggers, the birds are wholly avian), because they have such wonderful rapport with the feathered creatures. Their photos are stunning.  I, on the other hand, have a limited supply of patience to wait for the proper moment, not much technical expertise, no separate telephoto lens, and perhaps most important, not really that keen an interest in birds.

But last week in Look Park, a much subdued place now that almost all the leaves and people have gone, I found to my surprise that birds suddenly were compelling to me. It might have been because there was little else stirring, but whatever the reason, there I was sneaking up on birds, iPhone in hand. Nothing special in the bird world, mind you, just everyday Canada geese and mallards. But they were THERE, and alive, and I was on their tails. Back at home, photos up on the computer, I was surprised again. I hadn’t taken action photos at all. They were more like portraits. I really think they show evidence of personality, especially the last one.  See what you think:

 A male mallard, and his mate:

A Canada goose came along:

And then there were two:

Last of all, after them, rushed a more exotic creature, a featherless two-legged biped of another species:

This entry was posted in Autumn, Etcetera, Nature, Photography, Pioneer Valley and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Birds of Look Park

  1. 2e0mca says:

    That’s one evil eye that you’re getting from the Mallard Drake … I do hope you got away safely 😉

    Like

  2. Vicki says:

    the last one is the cutest of them all 🙂 I have found that photographing birds really grows on one..

    Like

  3. barb19 says:

    They are awesome photos of the ducks, you did a great job of photographing them – the start of new hobby perhaps? 😉 You seem to have captured the mood of the duck on the first one!
    The cute little biped seems to have her eye on your subjects!

    Like

  4. Patti Kuche says:

    That first one has such a delightfully cheeky look, pride in the glorious colours no doubt!

    Like

  5. cocomino says:

    Nice shots. My children like such birds and we find similar birds in neighborhood.

    Like

  6. pauline says:

    I’m always amazed at the diversity of color and feather designs, even on the smallest birds. Nice captures!

    Like

  7. Rebekah says:

    These fowl photos are great — especially considering they were shot with the phone! I’ve tried that with mallards, but I’m never happy with the outcome.
    You see how much fun it is?! Maybe this will grow on you… 😀

    Like

    • Touch2Touch says:

      I’m enjoying the camera on the phone so much! I don’t think I would have attempted the birds with my regular camera, it would have been too serious. With the phone, it’s like playing — so I’m braver!
      Hope you are feeling fit again, Rebekah, and ready for adventures with your iPhone 😉

      Like

  8. suitablefish says:

    nice captures — I like the flightless bird mixed in with the bunch. 🙂

    Like

  9. mybrightlife says:

    Be warned, twitching is infectious!

    Like

  10. CMSmith says:

    Great portraits of the birds. You’re a natural and don’t know it. 🙂

    Like

  11. Lol that first one is a real Mr Cranky Pants 🙂 But the featherless one has got to be my favourite!

    Like

  12. Madhu says:

    That mallard does look sinister 🙂 Love your bird shots! The few i have attempted have always turned out blurry!

    Like

  13. I’m pretty sure that one at the end is a blue-checkered weewun. Female. You can tell by feathered-tuft on its head and the dash of pink on its legs.

    Like

  14. Beautiful photos, love the reflection of fall colors on the water. That last photo is adorable!

    Like

I love comments! Thanks for coming by and visiting ---